One Last Gasp is out just in time for W.W.III (v5.15beta)

On hearing that Trumpy Mc Trump-face shot his load (of rockets) at a barren Syrian airfield I couldn’t help but feel that the world deserved another hour of comforting experimental music… so here it is… pay what you feel.

Using up all my CloudBounce credits I plopped this algorithmic monster out.  I figured I’d rather rely on robots to master the sounds herein for reasons perhaps obvious when you listen to it.  Analog warmth was certainly not a criteria.  I’m moving away from a “hands-on” approach to one more akin to tweaking the machine and the end result is some very odd moments that at times sound like contact-mic or field recordings, yet all is synthesised.

Tracks were generated real time and subsequently processed with Melodyne and sundry granular manipulators.  People expecting my usual chilled ambient drones may find some of it baffling but I haven’t gone full Hecker.  Learn to Fight in particular sound like robot versions of Joel Stern and I making free improvisational outdoor skronk.

I’m pretty happy with it: it’s a kind of angsty fist shake at a world I spend less and less time with given my responsibilities caring for Griffin.  My dad would have been 89 today.  I don’t imagine he’d like this much but I’m pretty sure he’d prefer it to watching shit go downhill as fast and far as it has since he’s been gone.

Hopefully someone will find this album enjoyable or therapeutic as I do.

It’s coming to the usual online streamers and sales places soon.

 

One thought on “One Last Gasp is out just in time for W.W.III (v5.15beta)

  1. Unable to sleep in the wee hours after election night, I suffered some very dark thoughts. You’ve put them to music.

    OT: If you’ve tried to go to AO the last couple of days and been unable to, the landing page now explains what’s going on. We are in the process of rebuilding the forum and will be back as soon as possible!

    Regards,
    Bruce.

Leave a Reply

