Making time… count.

Along with the latest (great) Room40 released David Shea album “Rituals” Lawrence sent me a new release from Chris Herbert called “Constants”. I just noticed in the press release he is quoted as saying the following:

“After certain life events,” Chris explains, “the windows, already scant, within which to make music were diminished to tiny slivers. Rather than feeling frustrated by this I realised the most radical thing I could do was to accept the limitation and exploit it as an asset. There simply wasn’t time to investigate new approaches or technology. The best way forward was to use techniques I felt fluent in and be prepared to capture anything of value, regardless how small or seemingly inconsequential.”

I can’t say I know what his life events are but can certainly relate to the time issues.  In the last 3 years i’ve gone from single, living alone, able to use my time as I please to being 1 part of 5 in a family where like it or not I get woken early, have to accept more work to ensure there is money and have substantially less time to myself.

Given the post I made yesterday I think it is interesting to note the re-arrangements we make to encourage a creative practice we have limited time for.

Leave a Reply

