An embarrassment of riches that continues to overwhelm

Following my harassment of him to comply, here is my friend Abre Ojos making with the self-shot performance video.

Elektron A4 and Electribe ES-1 noise jam from abre ojos on Vimeo.

In think these kinds of videos are awesome, particularly in how they illuminate different approaches to technology that aren’t given a focus in promotional videos.  Honestly all the very mainstream demos of the Elektron Analog 4 on YouTube tend to turn me off despite reading the impressive specs.  The CV outs pretty much highlight it as a gateway to Modular money-sink land – wish it had multiple MIDI outs.  Then again I wish my Nord Modular’s had proper MIDI outs as well.  Anyway… (1st world problems!)  Scott has an awesome looking CD/DVD release called Gates out on Secrets of Giza.

Further to the last post about workflow I’m still waiting (hoping) for a fix from Jim @ Five12 for the problem i’ve had with buzzing on the aux send in Numerology 3.  As it is clearly repeatable on my Macbook Air with a variety of different audio interfaces yet similarly doesn’t seem to happen on my MacMini – I fear it may be a compatibility issue somewhere which ain’t good.  In the meantime I’ve been using the Launchpad with Ableton Live 9 and it’s actually been rather good.  As you can see by the video in the previous blog post it is pretty configurable to make un-sequenced drone.  I find it interesting that i’m constantly returning to Live.  I never really utilise the architecture, preferring (perhaps obviously) the modularity of something like Bidule, Audiomulch, Usine or Max.  Yet I find none of these systems really combine hardware and software in the plug n play way like Live does.  The interface that should be locking me down to a rigid system is actually letting me compose, improvise and perform more effectively, precisely because i’m not spending all my time setting it up for specific functions.

There was a post on CDM recently focusing on the various uses of the Launchpad with Ableton.  I’m particularly gratified by commenter “Legs Mechanical” for alerting me to the nativeKONTROL LPC-Live setups – which appear to combine much of the functionality I was looking for with the Numerology / Launchpad hybrid with the performance features of the ISOControllers.   There is a hell of a lot that can be done here (check out the manual) so I don’t imagine this is a system that can be learnt quickly – however it looks like it provides more than enough for me to finalise my workflow and get… urr… working!  Check it out:

I don’t doubt that I couldn’t make a more relatable system of my own in Max using Novation’s Launchpad Programmers reference but with my research for work, looking for jobs and parenting… I don’t feel motivated to push in that direction quite yet.

I’ve also started working with Composers Desktop Project.  Not much to state now except that Sound Loom is rather too arcane as a learning experience and Sound Shaper, though slightly buggy on Windows 8, is much easier to get my head around.   Here is a track I made in Sound Shaper over a couple of hours last night.  It harkens very much to the kind of aural chaos magic I was into at the start of the last decade – inspired by the metaphysical elements that William Burroughs attributed to cut-up (which are outlined in Decoder and evident throughout early Cabaret Voltaire allegedly.)

So what does this messy dirge have to do with Makrotulpa, modular synths and workflow? Well the idea is that these prepared elements with be further seasoned by live processing to form unique audio/visual/textual events that exist to disrupt our current plane of existence along the space / time continuum.  An attempt to divert it from the black hole at the other side of the exploded sun… or something…

 

P.S. This has been a week of little discoveries.  One I forgot to mention before is the news that Integra Live is apparently coming out with an SDK that will essentially allow you to build your own modules in Pure Data.  This is actually pretty darn interesting news as it already has a very interesting modular approach.  Plus it is an open source program.  Shame their forum is totally overgrown with spam.  It looks promising.

Leave a Reply

