Audiopollen

Monsoonal rain-storm preceded this Easter Sunday gig.  Easter Sunday in Brisbane’s West End also means a flood of youngsters with disposable incomes, out to get wasted in the many beckoning dives. By comparison the venue tonight was a warm snug little room and I think, despite the lack of foldback, this was a nice set.  Here is the signal flow of my setup.

gigsignalflow

  • Samson Graphite 49 MIDI Controller
  • Nord Micro Modular
  • Korg KP3 Kaoss Pad
  • Phonic 6 Channel Mixer
  • Boss GT3 Guitar Multi-FX Pedal
  • Roland SP404SX Sampler.

This was something of a bridging set.  Initially it was skewed towards “The Included Middle” style atmospheric beat-driven material but after checking the room out at a gig on the previous weekend I thought it best to go for mostly mellow / low key.  I also had my 16month old son there and didn’t want to deafen him with stonkin!   Apparently I was too quiet and everyone commented positively about the bouncy end bit saying it needed to be longer and more frequent.  I’ve made it a habit in live performances to drag out the euphoria moment for an excruciatingly long time only to truncate it before everyone gets too into it… wouldn’t want to break with tradition now.

i gots teh droop
Anyone know what this “Here’s the Drop[TM]” nonsense is? I mean I have a sense of humour and all but they totally missed the real “Drop”!

The SP404 was running some of the mellower predefined loops along with some new stuff I made with either the Nord Modular or the G2 Demo software.  Will continue to focus on making longish “here’s something I prepared earlier” sequences but perhaps less on using other synths plugins. There are some nice drones here from LinPlug Octopus and some string sounds from Boscomac/Reaktor all lovingly coated with PSP N20 filters.  Can’t get past how good this plug-in is.

Now that I have a Nord Micro Modular i’m keen to focus on it’s wonderful modular possibilities / learn how to use it really well – tonight I was using it more for colour and the occasional squelches.

SKON performing - photo by Andrew Thomson

Yusuke referred to me as a founding member of Audiopollen… I was the guy that did the radio show on 4ZZZ, well before Joel or Yusuke got involved.  But they created the Audiopollen Social Club, and they are both leaving Brisbane it seems so, cliche though it may be, this is the end of an era.  I can’t say I liked everything that Audiopollen spawned but it was certainly an amazing opportunity working with these people creatively and I hope something equally significant arises in another form soon.

I have a blog about live music computer building coming up over the next few weeks but thought i’d post a short blog along with the Soundcloud link and some info.

Leave a Reply

